Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

Imaginationland May 28, 2012

Filed under: The Ramblings — Gemma @ 10:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I think the most disappointing part about some people growing up is that they lose the imagination they had a kid. The days that you could instantly transport yourself to another world, when you could be and do absolutely anything you wanted, from a Disney Princess in a castle (I was always Belle or Ariel :D) to a Superhero saving the world (playing Spiderman became so much more epic with those silly string toys!). Like the crazy old codger Albert Einstein, I think an imagination is something that needs to be valued and retained throughout a lifetime! I have gladly held onto this trait though I am 20 years old, and I do not plan on ever letting it go! Obviously I don’t bust out the barbies or rampage down the street declaring to everyone I meet that I am actually a dinosaur, but I still spend my time pondering strange scenarios, like what it would be like if Planet of the Apes was to actually happen, and if I would make a good pet human or if I would have a tendency to bite my ape master if he got stingy with my food.

One thing I adore about my boyfriend Steven is that he also shares my whacky imagination. When talking, we usually veer off onto wild tangents about outlandish scenarios and end up on the floor laughing until we can’t breath. Our most recent topic of conversation was our cat Jasper. As you know, Jasper is an evil mastermind (or if you don’t, please see my post: http://therantommenace.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/youre-the-devil-in-disguise/. By the end of it you’ll understand what a conniving little bastard he is :P). After trying to escape to the outside world and having a tantrum that we foiled his plan, we let our imagination run rampant, and decided that Jasper was trying to escape to the outside world to begin to gather his fellow felines and lead a cat rebellion against us. We believe that, mounted on dogs, they would gather in our backyard with Jasper at the head, screeching a death cry.

We decided that we would arm ourselves with raw steaks to incapacitate their steeds and water spray bottles to take down Jasper’s cat minions. Once the battle begins, we would fly through their air like ninjas and take them all down one by one. Naturally, as the water-logged cats drag themselves away and the dogs munch on their food, it would come down to an epic last confrontation between us and Jasper. Que Western duel music.

Being the pansy he is, this would all end with a spray of water to Jasper’s face. As he sits down to begin a long-standing sulking episode, we would pick him up, take him inside, and would always keep our spray bottles close at hand forever preparing for another uprising in the future.

Yeeeeeah, we had a bit too much time on our hands that day, but we laughed and laughed until our stomachs ached :D

Imagination makes life fun, so embrace it! Growing up is over-rated :)

On the topic of imagination, Steven asked me a really great question the other day:

‘If you had a choice from any movie/book/game, which fictional world would you like to live in?’

My choice would be the world of Pandora from the movie Avatar, minus all the destruction by the humans of course. The beautiful forests, the interesting animals and being so in touch with nature would be like my dream come true!

So what fictional world would you choose to live in? :)

On a side note, these are the reasons this past weekend has been absolutely wonderful:

1) I completed two of three major assignments that are due and am well on my way to completing the other by tomorrow (a 6 page assignment about dirt, absolutely riveting -___-), giving me more time to play glorious upon glorious hour as the elf Rochelle, the saviour and Grey Warden of Ferelden! (Dragon Age, best RPG ever, play it right now! :D)

2) My football team Richmond Tigers absolutely belted the Hawks (sorry planettwentytwo, I had to mention it :P) in which I proceeded to massacre their song for the rest of the night with my lovely banshee screeching singing :D

3) Steven and I managed to find a lovely walking track within this feral little area where we can escape reality for a little while and not have to deal with stupid people :)

4) My blog hit over 100 followers! Huzzah! And again thankyou all! :D

5) One of my lovely followers, though she had only been subscribed to my blog for a week, listed me as one of her ‘Top Ten Blogs to read that aren’t about books’, which absolutely made my day! :) For all you book nerds out their such as myself, definitely check out her blog! http://enchantedbybooks.wordpress.com/

6) We have wooden floor boards. I just happened to find my fluffy Shrek-coloured socks that have no grip. Surfing around the house shall commence immediately, a little something like this:

Fortunately, I actually have this song on my iPod, so unfortunately, I shall also be busting out similar awesome dance moves :D

No exam revision shall be getting done the next few days :D

 

19 Responses to “Imaginationland”

  1. hart1990 Says:

    Don’t let this wonderful imagination you have with your partner fade away. Very thoughtful post. This is the kind of thinking I do on a day to day basis.

    • Gemma Says:

      Hehe I think we are both too far gone to ever lose our imagination now thankfully :) Thankyou for stopping by and commenting! :)

  2. I use to read books from this series called Xanth. A mystical magical place with everyone having a certain skill. I would like to live there. It would be interesting. Tons of puns.

    • Gemma Says:

      Puns are the best, would definately be an interesting place to live! Any particular skill you would have? If I lived on Pandora I’d want to be one of the aliens rather than a human :D thanks for subscribing and commenting! :)

      • No problem. I don’t know, if I remember correctly, nobody ever has the same power. I believe one of the main characters could talk to inanimate objects. That would be cool. To be lucky all the time would be cool too. Anytime it can go my way it will go my way, that type of thing. There is a good audiobook (for free) called Playing for Keeps which has this guy named Lucky Jack. Everything goes his way. That wouldn’t be too shabby either. Yeah, there would be no point to living on Pandora if you weren’t one of the aliens.

      • Gemma Says:

        Haha that would an awesome power to have, being your own lucky charm! :D Telekinesis would be pretty awesome as well! :D

  3. Amy-Lee Says:

    all i can say after reading your last 3 blogs is that YOU ARE A COMPLETE NUTCASE

  4. Amy-Lee Says:

    :D

    ily <3

  5. Awesome post, really enjoyed reading it :) I am 31 and I sadly have yet to find a woman with which to do the same with as you do with your partner, I think jealously has crept in there lol.

    I love to mess around and I don’t think I have grown up, grown a mini beer belly but not mentally grown up lol.

    I would like to be in the Final Fantasy world just because I loved the idea of 1-8 when I was a kid playing through them. Plus the chance to own a sword 2 times bigger than me owwwwwwwwwww yes :)

    • Gemma Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! :) Aw don’t worry! Every woman has a bit of crazy in her, and one day you’ll find a woman who will let out it out and embrace it rather than hide it :) Who wants to act grown up and proper anyway when being immature and messing around is so much fun! :D Haha that would actually be pretty cool! :D Thankyou so much for stopping by and subscribing, look forward to chatting! :D

  6. Thank you for being the first visitor (and support) for my new blog. :) I entirely agree with you here, so thanks for giving me another awesome blog to keep up on. Subscribed! :)

  7. Carrie Says:

    You are my favorite blogger on my newsreel. Thanks for being awesome. :-D

    If I was to live in a fictional world, it would have to be Middle-Earth. I would be half-Elf, half-human and ride through the untamed wilderness fighting to Dark Lord Sauron. :-) It would be awesome.

    • Gemma Says:

      Aw this just made my day! Thankyou so much lovely, I’m glad you enjoy reading! ^_^
      Living in Middle-Earth would be epic! :D Being a half-elf half-human, would you be the sword wielding sorta gal or go for bow and arrows? :) I’d love to do epic shots with the bow like Legolas, but I am such a bad shot I would have to go hack and slash with a big ass sword so I was guaranteed to hit something :P

  8. Cady Says:

    Aw, I loved this post. Imagination is the only thing that gets me through my boring day job — I make up ridiculous stories in my head about all the crazy customers we get. Immature, yes…but nonetheless very effective in passing the time. Also, you inspired me to download the Dragon Age demo haha I’m kind of between Kingdoms of Amalur & Skyrim, but I will be checking it out tonight!

    • Gemma Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, thanks for stopping by and subscribing my dear! ^_^ Haha there is no better way to pass time at work than to use your imagination about the customers :P I worked at a wildlife park, and if there was an abusive or annoying customer, I used to imagine what it would be like if our 3 metre croc happened to ‘escape’ and eat them >:D Gosh I’m friendly :D Oh! Let me know if you like it! I’m one of those people that like a bit of direction in a game, so while I loved Skyrim for the HUUUUGE range of things you could do, sometimes I got a bit lost within all the different stories and quests and had no idea what to do next! Dragon Age still gives you great choices and allows for freedom of different storylines and outcomes ect, but just gives the story a bit more of a solid foundation to follow, which I love :D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers