Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

Youtube: where liking puppies means ‘You should go die!’ June 16, 2012

Random Raging Rant No. 4: Abusive social media

Every social media site has a certain feel to it these days, and unfortunately most of them make me want to walk down the street swinging a baseball bat (though most people would be quite safe from getting their allocated smack to the face, I have the worst swing and coordination in the history of . . . . well, ever :P). Facebook gives young teen girls the chance to cavort in every position possible in the hope of getting a couple of cheap likes on their photos and absolutely fricken rape my god damn newsfeed with sexual statuses, giving it a ‘whorey’ feel. Instagram is just like Facebook minus the stupid statuses plus loads more charming photos. Twitter is just loads more stupid updates minus the dumb photos. For every good Facebook/Instagram/Twitter site, there is 10, 000 shitty ones. While I will never understand the motivation behind these actions on these media sites (and seriously consider becoming a social media hermit and eliminating it from my life, with the exception of WordPress of course :D), there is one site that absolutely takes the cake on my confusion level. Youtube /que evil and menacing music

Go onto Youtube. Search for absolutely any type of video. Really, take your pick, animals, games, sports, anything (mine is usually cute and fluffy things :D)! Now, it is not the actual video that I would like you to pay attention to, but rather what is underneath of it. This is where you will find the complete unravelling of rationality. Usually, a conversation will follow as such:

Person 1: Awwww, look at the cute little kitten!

Person 2 replying to Person 1: I will find you and stab you in the f*cking throat.

WHAT THE SHIT? So wait, let me get this straight, you have an overwhelming urge to stab someone . . . . .  because of their love of kittens? BECAUSE THAT MAKES COMPLETE SENSE YOU TOTAL PSYCHOTIC BASTARD!

Sports video: abuse. Funny video: abuse. Gaming review video: abuse. Baby sneezing: abuse. Video of tiny little fluffy kitten playing: abuse. A video about abuse: abuse. A video of a black screen: abuse. No matter the video, no matter the nice comments, in reply, there is always a torrent of (mostly) undeserved abuse flying between viewers FOR ABSOLUTELY NO REASON! Even my boyfriend Steven got told to ‘Shut the f*ck up and go die’ for a completely innocent comment about football, in which we sat there staring at the screen completely and utterly confused at what had been said to deserve said abuse! I know some of these people try to pick fights for fun, but it is those that dish out death threats and are completely serious about it that confuse the crap out of me! Everyone has an opinion, and its completely ok to express that opinion, but don’t you think maybe, just maybe, threatening to shoot someone in the face is taking it just that liiiiiittleee bit too far? :P I think rather than all this ‘I’m going to stab you’ business, we need to find these sorry individuals, superglue them to a chair and play this song on repeat:

But then again, they might hate this music video and tell me to go die in a hole ;) I mean, as I have quite plainly advertised, I hate people too, but I could never throw such abuse at someone just for having their own opinion. What ever happened to a good ol’ friendly debates without wanting to rip each others throats out? I think I will just stick to being a silent viewer on Youtube rather than ever comment or, god forbid, ever MAKE a video. I am far too soft to be able to deal with abusive Youtubers . . . .  and I am quite fond of posting cute pictures of fluffy things without getting death threats :P LOOK ITS AN ADORABLE PUPPY!

Note: I understand the irony throughout this whole post of me raging about people raging :P

On a more positive note, I was surprised and very honored this week to be presented with five different awards! Bassa’s blog, through celebrating 1 year of blogging, presented 52 bloggers with her own ‘You Make Me Shine!’ Award, which I was very honored to receive from such a wonderful (and cute and fluffy) blogger :)

Secondly, I received ‘The Versatile Blogger’ Award, ‘The Kreativ Blogger’ Award, ‘The Inspiring Blog’ Award and ‘The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers’ Award from the lovely blogger Zen! Thankyou so much my dear! :) The usual rules with accepting these awards apply: Thank the person who nominated you and link them in your blog, some random facts about yourself, nominate other bloggers for the awards and let them know! :) I will produce some more random word vomit about myself, and then separately allocate awards :)

1) I was actually genuinely upset when I didn’t get my Hogwarts letter on my 11th birthday when I came to the realisation that if Hogwarts did exist, I was a muggle. Which is why I think I’ll begin investing time into Pottermore, who says I can’t be a witch now eh? :D

2) The war between my cat and I seems to have taken a turn for the worse. Rather than trying to give me a heart attack through scaring me, he is testing a new tactic of trying to gas me to death by producing extra disgusting poops. That he does on the floor. RIGHT NEXT TO THE LITTER TRAY.

3) I eat far too much chocolate, then again, I think every woman does :P

4) I once had a friendly debate with a religious person who came knocking on my door, which ended in her declaring I was possessed, made a warding off sign at me and ran off. Apparently I’m the devil :D

The Versatile Blogger Award Nominations

1) Reviews and Rants

2) Random Deviations

3) That’s Just Ridiculous by Curly Carly

All wonderfully funny and entertaining blogs! :)

The Kreativ Blogger Award Nominations

1) Creative Minds

Cooking, drawing and creating, Sarah covers it all with her new blog!

The Inspiring Blog Award

1) Mikumi Musings

2) Chronicles of Nature 

I respect both of these women greatly for the work with and their views on the wonderful world of animals :)

The Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award

1) Sezpets

2) lots’ bout nothing

3) Defining Wonderland

4) Brown Eyes and Green Bees

A sisterhood award that I am very happy to pass on to some of the lovely ladies of the blogging world :)

Now after all this typing and ranting and these wonderful awards and the stupid amount of studying I did today (writing 15 pages is a bitch!) I think I m going to go and gorge myself on junk food, and then to work it off chase my cat around the house :D Until next week lovelies! ^_^

 

25 Responses to “Youtube: where liking puppies means ‘You should go die!’”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Thank you, Gemma! I am proud to be a part of an international sisterhood that includes a possessed, chocolate-addicted Muggle at war with her feline companion. ;-) You rock! xoxo

    • Gemma Says:

      No worries! :) Hahahaha I like that, I might use that as my title now when introducing myself ;) Aw thankyou love, you are just as awesome! :D xx

  2. itssrijana Says:

    congratulations

  3. beckyday6 Says:

    HAHAHAAAA HAAAA HA. Agree 100%. Nuff said.

    Ohh and the 4th point about yourself……your like…my hero, I always want to challenge those religious people that come to the door! Haha :L

    • Gemma Says:

      Youtube certainly is ridiculous for its arguments! :P Haha why thankyou ;P I never usually do, but when I politely told this woman that I had different views to her (and told her I am studying Animal Behaviour which is completely based on how behaviours have arised from previous ancestors aka I believe 100% in evolution) it seemed to make her aggravated and more determined to try and convince me I was wrong. When she started getting rude, I gave a bit back to her, which apparently made me Satan >:D

  4. Danielle Says:

    most comments are so unwarranted! I’ve seen some on youtube too! (and don’t even start me on spelling and grammar in the comments!!)

    I’m on Pottermore too! My user name is: AurorDust10933

    • Gemma Says:

      Hahaha oh I know, at least if they are trying to insult someone they could spell it right :P Thanks lovely, I’ll definately add you on there! :D I actually already have your Pottermore user name written down for when I finish my exams and can really get into it a bit more, I remember reading your blog about it and that was actually what made me look into it and sign up! :D

  5. Carrie Says:

    Gemma, your posts never fail to brighten my day. Even your Raging Rant ones. :p

  6. You are well balanced;). Thanks for posting…

  7. ThatRobHall Says:

    It’s posts like this that make me realise that I’m not the only one in the world that thinks the way I do. They also make me laugh and as such I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award. Check it out here for more info! http://eatsleeppro.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/the-sunshine-award/

  8. vinprabhu92 Says:

    It’s true what you’ve said about YouTube.
    Needless to say, well written!

  9. kalicouture Says:

    This is really well written! I just recently found your blog and I must say, it’s very humorous. :D

  10. […] Yes I know Kreativ is spelt wrong, but I have received this award from my friend Gemma. You can see her blog here. […]

  11. theodd1in Says:

    I too, was very upset when I didn’t get my Hogwarts letter! I don’t want to be a muggle! D:

    • Gemma Says:

      I have a plan: Find Hogwarts, somehow break through all the enchantments, and try convince them that we are at least Squibs so we can at least live there in all the magical wonderfulness :D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers