Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

15 Songs of my Childhood (Disney of course!) June 6, 2012

For the next two weeks, I have to be a good student and do a ridiculous amount of study in order to pass my 3 upcoming exams . . . . . .  so naturally, I have been procrastinating 😀 Now, before you scold me and send me back to my study desk (Please don’t make me go back! I’M BEGGING YOU!), I have been putting this wasted time to perfectly good use and have been doing lots of research for this current post. Oh yes, I have dedicated hours and hours of my time . . . . . to listen to Disney songs and pick out my favourite 15 😀 Without further ado, here is my childhood re-lived (and my current adulthood ;)) and a guilt free procrastinatory tool for all of those that are too avoiding study or anything for that matter, because lets face it: Disney Songs > EVERYTHING ELSE!

Happy procrastinating everyone 😀

15) Everybody Wants to be a Cat – The Aristocats

Such a cool and groovy song! Plus I adore jazz/big band music, its just got such a wonderful swing to it 🙂 And after all, who the hell doesn’t want to be a cat?! Eating and sleeping all day? Sounds fine by me! 😛

14) Colours of the Wind – Pocahontas

This song gives me chills, her voice is amazing! Being the animal and nature lover that I am (and also after being told when I was little that I have Native American heritage which lead me to convince my 7 year old self that I was related to Pocahontas :P) I can also strongly relate to this song and its wonderful message about the beauty of the world!

13) Two Worlds – Tarzan

Again, another beautiful message about how vastly different creatures can live together in harmony 🙂 I also love my wonderful primates, so I’m all for turning Jungle Woman and going and living in the forest to swing through the trees (and crash into them in a George of the Jungle fashion) with my beloved orangutans! 😀

12) Friend Like Me – Aladdin

I’d definitely like to have a friend like Genie! 😉 This was the ultimate ‘dance around to’ song when I was little 😀

11) Zero to Hero – Hercules

With a catchy and upbeat tune, this song honestly can never go wrong! Go Herc! 😀

10) A Whole New World – Aladdin

Simply, I am a girl and this is a sappy love song, therefore I love it 😀 Also, I was going to marry Aladdin when I was 8, and this was going to be our song, but that bitch Jasmine stole him from me 😛

9) You’ll be in my Heart – Tarzan

Again. Girl. Love song. You know the story hehe 🙂 So much rather listen to genuine Disney love songs than songs about love (aka sex) that are written in this day and age!

8) I just can’t wait to be King – The Lion King

It’s from the Lion King, making it instantly awesome! 😀 I also know all the words to it and sung along quite loudly and terribly in the cinema when it was released last year, embarrassing my poor boyfriend and his little sister 😀

7) Bare Necessities – Jungle Book

I always just wanted to give super suave Baloo a big cuddle and dance along with him! If I recall correctly, this was my favourite song to sing for years 🙂

6) Timon Hula Dance – The Lion King

Ok ok, I know this is technically not a song, but it is awesome and never fails to make me crack up laughing! ‘What do you want me to do? Dress in drag and do the hula?’ Hehehehe 😀

5) He Lives in You – The Lion King 2

A wonderful reminder of the unforgettable lion that was Mufasa! And I love anything to do with Mufasa, I think I actually love him more than Simba, and that’s saying something! Just such a powerful and haunting song, adore it! 🙂

4) Reflection – Mulan

Oh her voice! This is one of those songs I will NEVER get sick of purely due to the chills and goosebumps it gives me when she sings! I think I love this song so much as well because when I was younger I could completely relate to it, acting like someone else because I was too scared no one would accept me for who I am. Though this is not the case now, this song will always hold that place in my heart!

3) I See the Light – Tangled

This song makes me swoon and sigh, yet another lovey dovey song 🙂 But also very inspirational, and though not from the original Disney classics, is still one of my favourites!

2) I’ll Make a Man out of You – Mulan

Play this song when you are studying, it makes you feel like you are actually doing something incredibly epic 😀 I love when Mulan gets determined and owns everyone at the end! Take that Shang!

And finally, my number one favourite Disney song is (drumroll please!):

1) Hakuna Matata – The Lion King

Come on, are you really that surprised my favourite song is from the Lion King (along with the fact that The Lion King featured in this list more than any other movie)? 😉 The best song in the history of ever, when ever you are feeling blue, listen to this song. It is a guaranteed pick-me-up and will put a smile on your face and have you singing along in no time! 😀

So what is your favourite Disney song? 🙂 Also, if anyone has any suggestions for another random list or post that they would like to see me write that would give me yet another reason to procrastinate, it would be much appreciated 😀

Well, I suppose I should get back to procrastinating some more studying, while playing all of these songs on constant repeat of course 😉

 

35 Responses to “15 Songs of my Childhood (Disney of course!)”

  1. I love Disney songs. Nice selection. One of my favorite songs is from Lion King as well, but you left it off the list. It is Scars “Be Prepared” song. Good list though.

    • Jessica Says:

      That’s one of my favorites too! It’s on my iPod and I can’t help singing along whenever it comes on. =)

    • Gemma Says:

      Thanks! 🙂 you have a very good taste music then, Disney is the best 😀 that is actually an awesome song that I completely forgot about! Maybe I should have done a top 20, there is just so many great ones to choose from 😛

  2. beckyday6 Says:

    I’ll Make a Man out of You one of my all time favourites! Girl power! Oh and can you feel the love tonight (the lion version only, not any of that silly Elton John stuff ;P )

    I’d be interested to see a post that’s a list of your favourite books. Oooh or a rant about book snobs! I would love that! Haha god I’m such a bookworm…

    • Gemma Says:

      It’s just such an epic song 😀 agreed, lion kings version is 1000000 better 😀 Thanks for the suggestion my dear, I’m definitely going to do a list of my favourite books! 😀 Bookworms FTW! 😀

  3. Yay. I love this. Disney songs are such great therapy for the chaos that is adulthood.

  4. sezkg Says:

    Love disney songs 🙂 I have 108 on my iPhone 😄

    My favorites (that aren’t on your list) in no particular order:
    Baby Mine (dumbo)
    Be our guest
    Circle of life
    If I didn’t have you (monsters inc)
    Part of your world (little mermaid)
    When she loved me (toy story 2)

    You could make a list of favorite books or games 🙂 good luck with your study, I started revising psychology yesterday… Procrastination is sounding good right now

    • Gemma Says:

      You have a fantastic taste in music! ;D I can’t remember that dumbo song, looks like more youtube time for me 😀 all of those songs are great, so many good ones to choose from! 😛 thanks for the suggestions love, I think I’m going to do a list of my favourite books to procrastinate some more 😀 I was going to revise today, but my wireless broadband has decided to shit itself (great timing hey!) So I can do nothing revision wise at the moment, so I am playing the ps3 😀 good luck with your study too!

  5. Carrie Says:

    This is one of the best compilation lists I’ve ever seen! Amazing selection. You have awesome taste in Disney music. I salute you! :p

  6. Adriana Says:

    Ahah number 1 is the best song by far !!!

  7. mandarox Says:

    I love all the songs from Mulan, but I’m suprised you didn’t have The Circle of Life from The Lion King on there. I also love Savages from Pocahontas, the best part is when she’s singing a solo over all the men. It sends shivers down my spine! Nice list, though. Looking forward to next week’s. 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      My boyfriend was suprised that I didn’t have that one too! 🙂 I love it of course, but these ones are my personal favourites, with Circle of Life still probably sneaking into my Top 20 (or maybe just listing ‘Lion King songs’ as number one would suffice seeing as I love them all hehe :D) Agreed, Pocahontat has an amazing powerful voice! Thankyou my dear, I’m glad you enjoyed reading! 🙂

  8. lotsboutnothin Says:

    Because I love each one of your posts so much, and actually read them more then once, because they’re funny and interesting, I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! See more at: http://lotsboutnothin.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/best-day/ 😀

  9. duncanr Says:

    Can’t believe you didn’t include this song 😆

  10. B Says:

    The fact you were able to narrow it down to 15 makes you incredible. Awesome choices here that have caused me to dance around my living room on my own. 🙂 The Little Mermaid’s Under the Sea and Kiss the Girl by Sebastian are amazing too. In all fairness I adore his voice, I could listen to that crab all day 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      Hehe why thankyou! Dancing and singing to these songs while they are playing is an absolute necessity 😀 Haha very true! He has an awesome voice! 🙂

  11. vinprabhu92 Says:

    Bare necessities and Hakuna Matata, the theme song of my life!
    Great list you’ve made!

  12. planettwentytwo Says:

    Sweet list! #10 #9 and all Lion King songs FTW!!

  13. Zen Says:

    I have all fifteen of these songs on a playlist along with some other Disney songs, and I play them when I’m writing, haha. Most of them are so happy and they make me feel incredibly relaxed and inspired. xD

    Also, I’ve nominated you for an award… or several. You can take a look here: http://zenscribbles.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/thank-you-for-the-awards/

    • Gemma Says:

      You have very good taste in Dinsey music! 😀 I am yet to put them on my ipod, but when I do, I don’t think I will ever listen to anything other than Disney again! 😛 Oh my gosh, thankyou so so much lovely! 😀

  14. DAISYLAND Says:

    Reblogged this on DAISYLAND and commented:
    Sometimes I miss Disney movies so bad! No good cartoon movies come out anymore!

  15. clementinewinter Says:

    I love the Bare Necessities and Hakuna Matata, you just can’t avoid dancing to them! I have a few favourites from the Little Mermaid, a little girly of course 😉

    • Gemma Says:

      Or singing along 😀 Hehe of course, girly songs are a must on any playlist! Kiss the girl was one of my favourites from that movie 😀 Thanks for stopping by and subscribing lovely! 🙂

      • clementinewinter Says:

        No problem. I love the one where she sings about all the human items in the cave, can’t remember the name though…

      • Gemma Says:

        Oh I love that one too! I think its called ‘Part of your world’ 🙂

  16. I LOVE that I found this post. I have lots of Disney songs on my Ipos and when I was a nanny I used to b=make cd’s full of them for the kids. Gotta say though that ‘Wont Say I’m In Love’ from Hercules and ‘Poor Unfortunate’ souls are two of my tops.

    • Gemma Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed reading it love, thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I adore ‘Won’t Say I’m in Love’, it aaaaaalmost made the top 15, until I remembered the movie Tangled which has my undying love so I had to give the spot away 😛 Aw the kids would have loved that! I think every child these days really needs to see the movies and hear the songs we did as children, otherwise they are really missing out on some amazing stuff! 🙂

  17. […] I once conveniently compiled all my favourite Disney songs into one blog post (which you can find here), study instantly ceases, as I have no choice but to listen to each and every single one about half […]


Leave a Reply

