Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

Exams: The good, the bad and the ugly June 29, 2012

Filed under: The Ramblings — Gemma @ 12:11 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Exams: the bane of every students existence.

The Good:

Upon realising as a result of my title I had to try to think of something good to write about exams, this was the reaction that followed:

Now that I think about it, this is also probably some of the lecturers/teachers reaction when they watch our faces fall as we open the exam and see all the difficult questions they have put in there:

SUCK ON THAT BITCHES! >:D

Sadistic assholes.

The good about exams: That they are finally over. And the fact that for a split second I honestly did try to think of something nice to say about exams made me laugh so hard I nearly peed my pants.

The Bad:

1) Due to exams, I disappeared off of the face of the blogosphere without so much as a how-do-you-do. For this I am truly sorry, and in the hope that my lovely readers will forgive me for slacking off, I have uploaded the cutest picture of my cat that I own:

Now that all is forgiven (as Jasper sleeping with his tongue out is insanely adorable :D), I am back to blogging and shall probably be posting far too many ramblings, reading loads too many books and playing way too many games starting as of now. The next three weeks are mid-semester break and I plan to thoroughly enjoy them 😀

2) The stress of trying to cram a semesters worth of information into your head in a few short weeks. Lets face it, we all do it. We slack off all semester thinking ‘Its ok, I’ll catch up on it next week!’. Before you know it, its exam revision week, you have done absolutely nothing, and you can’t even remember the name of the class you are taking. You stay up till 1 o’clock every night trying to force yourself to learn the in’s and out’s of a protozoan’s, a nematodes and the synapsids body structure, while your brain will swallow no such nonsense and conveniently only wants to sing ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ to you over and over again to drive you insane. Inevitably, the exam itself arrives. While these past weeks you have been shitting bricks (hopefully only figuratively and not literally) and been feeling like the end is near, in your current comatose state, you are actually strangely calm and no longer give a flying batshit if you actually pass or not. Throughout the exam, your asshole mind is still singing ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’. After you have finished, you vow:

‘Next semester will be different!’

 DON’T EVER BELIEVE YOURSELF! Usually, next semester is exactly the same, with twice the amount of procrastination to avoid getting stressed. I have already said this to myself after trying to learn 3 different topics within a 2 week period, but I don’t believe myself for a second, I am just too gosh darn lazy 🙂

3) Getting to the actual exam. I live two hours away from uni. I don’t drive. I have to catch public transport, meaning if I want to get to an 8:45am exam on time, I have to leave home at 6:30am. If this wasn’t bad enough, Adelaide Metro increased its efforts to make me a raging she-hulk by being even more useless than usual. At the best of times, a bus will usually rock up late or not show up at all. As a once off, this is fine and expected, however, on Tuesday when I was trying to get to my exam on time . . . . 6 F*CKING SCHEDUALED BUSES DIDN’T SHOW UP! Not late, they apparently just didn’t exist. I waited for an hour trying to contain my rage and then panic as every single bus but mine showed up, and when a bus did EVENTUALLY rock up, I had to stop myself sounding like a maniac and shrieking ‘WHERE THE HELL HAVE YOU BEEN?!’ at the bus driver. Thankfully I made the exam JUST on time! Stupid public transport -_____-

The Ugly:

Procrastination. While it comes in many forms, here are the ways that I use to waste perfectly good exam revision time:

1) Eating my feelings

My feelings this time around tasted like chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate 😀

2) Chasing the cat with the duster

3) Making a useless to-do list

4) Taking out my anger on and abusing Cleverbot (a talking computer)

5) Looking through people’s pictures on Facebook, realising I am very behind on how girls take photos of themselves these days, and deciding to try it out myself:

Am I doing it right? 😛

Because this is clearly better than smiling 😛

6) Listening to this song on repeat which literally gives me no choice but to stop studying and instead disco dance around the house:

I am insanely glad that exams are finally over for this semester, and will spend the next three weeks reveling in my temporary freedom. I have also been looking massively forward to these holidays so I can finally get my butt back into Adelaide Zoo, complete my zoo guide training and finally become a fully fledged volunteer! I can’t wait! 😀

 

22 Responses to “Exams: The good, the bad and the ugly”

  1. Zen Says:

    Congratulations on finishing your exams! And working at a zoo… that has got to be all sorts of interesting. =D

    • Gemma Says:

      Thanks love! I was so happy the moment I walked out of the exam room! 😀 Haha it definately is! Once I have brushed up on all my info, I expect I will be posting lots of interesting info about the animals there hehe 😀

  2. That really is an adorable picture of your cat. I’m ridiculously pleased that you used the “I HATE EVERYTHING” cat because I had NO luck hunting it down last time I wanted to use it. Right click–>Save image. Yessssss.

    • Gemma Says:

      When I saw him sleeping like that i was like OMG PICTURE TIME! I have far too many pictures of him 😀 Hahaha that image is the best, glad I could help! 😀

  3. theodd1in Says:

    Haha, every year it’s the same, “I will start revision earlier!” “I will write up my lecture notes straight away!” Ha. Why do we lie to ourselves? :L And that picture of your cat is adorable! 😀

    • Gemma Says:

      I think we do it to make ourselves better at the time, but then when the next semester rocks around, laziness takes over again 😛 haha thanks, I thought it was quite cute too! 😀

  4. Jeremy Says:

    Here here! (Hear hear?)

  5. mandarox Says:

    Great job, everything you said us so true, especially the procrastination and rage at buses. Also, I loved the biology references 🙂

  6. Bassas Blog Says:

    Fantastic post! I loved it!

  7. Can absolutely relate to the fruitless to-do lists, endless facebook stalking and resulting self loathing, and eating like crap! 1 year of college down, three more to go!

    • Gemma Says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that does these things hehe 😀 I have one more year until freedom (so to speak :P), WE CAN DO IT! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by lovely! 🙂

  8. Number five is as worse as Scientology theories. Tsk. 😦 I squirm every time I see friends’ puffer fish pics on fb and so many people “liking” it. Apocalypse is near, I bet.

    • Gemma Says:

      I just don’t understand how girls think they look attractive, and how guys then think its attractive! It’s such a stupid face to pull 😛 Hahaha I bet it is too 😛

  9. beckyday6 Says:

    I LOVE THIS POST SO MUCH.

    Props Gemma you the woman! 🙂

  10. leighkgb02 Says:

    Can I just say, I scrolled down what was probably a half of an inch and the second I saw David Tennet I exclaimed: “Nope! Don’t need to even read this post, this girlie knows where it’s at!” Of course, I DID read the rest of the post and it made me laugh ridiculously hard, near tears from the sheer truth of it all. Here’s to you. 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      Aw thankyou so much lovely, that means a lot! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading it, its nice to know that people actually like my ranting hehe 🙂 thanks for stopping by and commenting 😀

  11. haha, that sums up me right now! And, the endless, useless lists, I thought I was the only one!! And, I can totally relate about the Adelaide public transport!!! Looking forward to following your blog 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      Useless lists make give you a way to feel accomplished when you have actually done nothing, but allow you to still feel productive, I’m glad I’m not the only one! 😛 Thankyou for stopping by and subscribing lovely, I look forward to chatting with you 🙂


Leave a Reply

