Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

The Review: The Dark Knight Rises July 22, 2012

Batman. The Dark Knight. The protector of Gotham City.

And the reason I will never EVER be able to enjoy another movie as much I enjoyed this one!

(Note: This is a completely spoiler free review, I just need to rant and rave :D)

After breaking our hermit code (to barricade ourselves inside our little house once it hits 6 o’clock :P) and deciding to go to the movies, my boyfriend and I ended up seeing what turned out to be the pure definition of epic, The Dark Knight Rises. Words can honestly not describe how amazing this movie was. For the whole 2 1/2 hours I was on the edge of my seat in suspense, desperately wanting to find out what happens, but at the same time not wanting it to end. It made me gasp in horror, it made me cry, it made me absolutely terrified, and made me want to jump out of my seat and cheer.

I have always loved Batman as a superhero. In fact, I’d probably go as far to say that he is my favourite. He isn’t from another planet like Superman, or obtained his inhumane powers from a freak accident like Spiderman. He is just an ordinary guy (as ordinary as a billionaire can get :P), a normal person, that became a brilliant detective and hero through a whole load of hard work. He saw his parents murdered at the hands of a mugger when he was a child, and was left an orphan. He swore from that moment on to exact vengeance and clean up the city of Gotham. After having a fear of bats, he conquered his phobia, and decided to become fear itself (one of THE coolest concepts of ‘Batman Begins’ :D). Through countless years of vigorous mental and physical training, through intellect, technology and wealth, Batman was not gifted with his amazing powers, he damn well EARNED them.

Throughout the movie Batman never ever loses his admirable determination to save the city that he loves and that most would have abandoned long ago. When he is broken, whether it is physically or mentally he gets right back up again, and no matter how long it takes him, he rebuilds himself from the inside out. When Commissioner Gordon stops him and says ‘I never said thankyou…’, Batman replies with: ‘And you’ll never have to.’ When Catwoman states that he has already given everything he has to save the people of Gotham, Batman simply answers: ‘No I haven’t. Not yet.’Even in the most dire circumstances, Batman is willing to give his life, without any recognition for his sacrifice, to save the city that has hated him to become an icon, a symbol, for those who have lost hope.

Batman Begins was wonderful. The Dark Knight was fantastic. But The Dark Knight Rises was something else all together. While it was the end of the trilogy, it was definitely the best of the three. It was dark, shocking, full of suspense and epic beyond belief. In comparison, I will never be able to watch another movie and whole heartedly say it was amazing. The Dark Knight Rises is, in my eyes, the pinnacle of all movies, and one that I will never tire of watching 🙂

‘Batman is the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we will hunt him….because he can take it. Because he’s not a hero. He’s a single guardian, a watchful protector. The Dark Knight.’

 

26 Responses to “The Review: The Dark Knight Rises”

  1. mandarox Says:

    I’ve heard so many big things about this film and how great it is! I will have to see if you’re all right 😛

  2. Jonathan Says:

    Ok… so we need to figure out when we can go see it now 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      It is definately worth taking time to see, it’s quite a long movie, but not once did I ever think ‘Damn, this thing never ends!’, it is amazing from start to finish! Let me know what you think of it! 🙂

  3. pamasaurus Says:

    I absolutely cannot wait to see this. I have not heard one bad thing about it. Superhero movies are my favorite!

  4. I saw it on IMAX today – it’s on today’s post – I love the music… thunderous, chilling, ominous and inspirational… the entire experience was like a two hour rollercoaster ride that made you want to run around to the back of the line and have another go.

    There were a few times when I literally laughed out loud too – and I rarely do that – the first was when the cop shot Batman’s gun and he gave him the “Really?” look and a bit of stinky eye. That was hilarious.

    I honestly didn’t think it was as good as The Dark Knight – I wanted to see more of Alfred and Gordon – and I think Blake carried the film… I thought the revelations were predictable but then it’s hard to surprise audiences any more so I won’t hold that against them. The one thing I would change is the end with Alfred… he should have just looked up and nodded and that would’ve been enough for the audience. If you haven’t seen it, I don’t think I’ve given anything away there…

    …but it was still excellent. One for the Blu Ray collection.

    • Gemma Says:

      I agree, the music was so good, I definately wanted to turn around and see it again! 😛 Hahahaha I loved that bit too, Batman’s reaction was hilarious! 😀 I think I liked it a bit more than The Dark Knight because I am a sap and like happy endings, (don’t get me wrong, I love The Dark Knight! :)) and The Dark Knight was so dark that you walked out of the cinema feeling a tad depressed (and in awe of course!) That definately would have been a good way to end it, and it would have left a bit of mystery to it too 🙂 I will definately be purchasing it the moment it comes out and having a Batman marathon! 😀 Thanks for stopping by and commenting lovely! 😀

      • LOL I forgot to say… my only real criticism is that I felt the music was too loud in places… I didn’t catch all the dialogue… maybe when I watch it at home I’ll be able to discern more… 🙂

      • Gemma Says:

        Me too! Sometimes with the loud dark music, with Bane’s softer accented voice, I couldn’t hear a word he was saying XD By Batman’s reaction’s though I could kinda get the jist of what was going on 😛 Hopefully it is a bit more understanable on the dvd 😛

  5. B Says:

    AHHH!! I can’t wait to watch this. I’ve only heard good things. Completely agree with your very nice character analysis of Batman; he is an awesome superhero…definitely one of my favourites(I want his car too, without a doubt!)

    • Gemma Says:

      Let me know what you think of it! 😀 Hehe thanks! I think he will always be my favourite, closely followed by Spiderman 🙂 Hahaha oh definately, the Batmobile is amazing! I also wouldn’t mind some of his new vehicles in The Dark Knight Rises as well, talk about travelling in awesomeness and style! 😀

  6. I’ve heard a few complaints along the lines of “there’s too much talking, it’s so boring!” and I think there’s a distinction to be made here; The Avengers was fun, adventerous, and great…. but The Dark Knight Rises is great in a whole different way that is just as valid.

    • Gemma Says:

      I’ve heard that complaint too! I personally didn’t mind it at all when they were talking because I like some background to work with before they jump into the action! I completely agree with your point, both are so different you can’t try to compare them on the same page, they are both great movies in their own right! 🙂

  7. Bassas Blog Says:

    Great review. Tall person and De will take the little person to see this when it comes to Tbilisi.

  8. I enjoyed the film. I thought the beginning started off slow. I don’t know, I just didn’t seem to enjoy this one as much as the second. Nevertheless it was a good film.

    • Gemma Says:

      It did start a little slower than the others, but I don’t think I minded it because I like to sit back and soak up the backstory and let the scene be set before the chaos starts 🙂 Only awesome movies and characters such as Batman can get away with it though ;P I think I enjoyed this one a lot more because I am soft and like happy endings 😛 I loved The Dark Knight, but by the end of it, so much had happened and so many people had died that while I walked out of the cinema in awe, I also felt a little depressed! I want The Dark Knight Rises to hurry up and come out on DVD now, I want to have a Batman marathon 😀

  9. Jeremy Says:

    I have my tickets booked for the biggest cinema in Johannesburg for opening night in South Africa for this movie…I AM SO EXCITED!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 especially after your amazingly spoiler free review 🙂

  10. lepetitekat Says:

    I cannot wait to see this! It was so nice to read a review that is spoiler free! Thank you!

  11. theodd1in Says:

    I saw this the other day and it’s such a good film! Definitely up there as one of my favourites… but The Dark Knight is still my favourite- Bane is a wicked villain, but Heath Ledger as the Joker was just epic!

    • Gemma Says:

      I think I like this one just that little bit better than the Dark Knight because I am a sap and love how it ended 😀 I definately agree though, no other villain will ever be able to compare to Heath Ledger as the Joker! 🙂


Leave a Reply

