Remain Insane

Ramblings of an animal loving, people hating, game enthusing, book nerd :D

Writer’s block and brain farts January 15, 2013

Over the past few days I have wasted hours staring at a blank computer screen. I have started this sentence a few dozen times and then ended up deleting it only to be stuck on a blank screen again. I have come up with many an idea of blog posts I’d love to write, rants that must be had and books and games that I would love to rave about, but I can’t seem to put any of them into something that doesn’t sound like I just mashed my face into the keyboard. I have cracked tantrums, been adamant I will delete my whole blog because of how frustrated I am and then decided against it at last minute. No matter how much I have tried nor how many hours I have spent trying to write my brain completely refuses to function and let me have my creative outlet. I have been struck with a very severe case of writers block, so much so that I have spent the past 24 hours having writer’s block about how to write about writer’s block! I have so much to say and yet no way to say it!

Already it has been half an hour and another tantrum since I have typed the paragraph above! I don’t know if it’s because I’m trying to hard. I don’t know if it’s because I am beginning to over think my posts and am worrying too about the content. I don’t know if it’s because I am comparing myself to other blogger’s and feel as if I am coming up short. All I know is this brain fart is beginning to drive me up the wall!

image

I have read and tried so many tips on how to get past it: Talk to someone about it (I’ve practically gnawed my poor boyfriend’s ear off), if you can’t write anything try again later (x1000000000), write crap (currently in progress 😛 ), but alas, nothing is working and I am still stuck as ever. And I possibly just created the most pointless blog post ever….. well at least I can cross out the possibility that my lack of writing is due to me worrying about the content 😛 Maybe eating my frustrations and stress will help?

After all, stressed is desserts spelt backwards! 😉

Oh, and meet Squirt (yes, as in Squirt off of Finding Nemo 😛 ), our newest addition to our little family 🙂 Until next time lovelies, when my brain decides to become functional again!

‘You so totally rock Squirt!’

 

10 Responses to “Writer’s block and brain farts”

  1. willandbobby Says:

    This happens constantly. If you ask me, the best things you can do to fight back are to:

    1. Go watch a movie/sleep/get outside and wait it out (sucks, but it works.)

    Or

    2. Read an early post/diary entry/note you wrote. The further in the past the better. You’ll be so infuriated with your younger self that your brain will kick into overdrive!

    It’s funny that writer’s block is, itself, something to write about, right?

    Good luck!

    • Gemma Says:

      Hahahaha I like the idea of going back and reading older posts, I’ll try that! 😛 Haha indeed, I felt like I had to write about something, so what better than to write about writer’s block to try and break through my writer’s block 😉 Thankyou heaps for the tips! Hopefully I can get over it soon, it is positively infuriating!

  2. Zen A. Says:

    I’m currently suffering from this toooo. I haven’t been posting much because I worry too much about how my posts come across. =[ Even when it comes to novels, I’ve been stuck at one point for quite some time now because I keep writing and deleting what I wrote. I know what I want to write, but presentation matters to me a lot.
    Also, Squirt is very cute. 😀

    • Gemma Says:

      It’s good to know I’m not the only one that struggles with this!! I know exactly what you mean, I know what I want to write about, but if I write it and I’m not happy with how I have presented it I will delete the whole thing and hate myself for it! Stupid brain!
      Hehe thanks, I think he’s cute too! 😀 I may possibly most likely being biased, but out of the 30 baby turtles I had to choose from, I got the best one 😛

  3. Brain farts – tee hee – that’s funny 😀
    Squirt is adorable – welcome to the family.
    Hope you get your mojo back soon.

    • Gemma Says:

      Haha when I first heard it too I was like ‘Oh my god, that describes my brain lapses perfectly!’ 😛 Hehe thankyou, I think he’s quite dashing ;P He is the second member of our one day huge animal family 😛 Thanks, I hope so too!

  4. beckyday6 Says:

    One word – Overthinking.

    The bane of human existence! Lol. Especially mine.

    That’s when I find I get stuck with blog posts, when I overthink. I start worrying that others might not like it, that they will find it boring or unoriginal or just plain uninteresting! I often get a bit of mini-anxiety before I press publish, and the more positive feedback I get from a previous post, the more anxious I get about the next one! As if the future posts couldn’t possibly live up to the next ones. At that point I try to remember why I started my blog, for me myself and I. 😛 I just wanted it to ramble and keep track of books, and yes I love it when I get comments and I REALLY love it when I can look back on some point and go ‘hey look, I’m all intelligent! Did I write that?’ lol, but at the end of the day, not everything can be perfect. 🙂

    In my opinion the only way to deal with writers block is to write through it, trying to turn off your inner critic and just write. (Incredibly easier said than done!) Because the more times you go to write and can’t, the more it will be reinforced in your own head that you won’t be able to write when you sit down to do it. It’s kinda like the good old goldfish/dog conditioning where they associate a colour or a noise with food etc. 😛

    Good luck! You can do it. 🙂

    • Gemma Says:

      You just described my problem perfectly! THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT I AM DOING AT THE MOMENT! When I first started blogging I just wrote whatever whenever and people seemed to like it so I was like ‘Awesome, I’ll just keep rabbling about crap!’ 😛 But now I think I worry too much about what people will think and try too hard to think of something rather than just write what I want to and panic that if I do people will just think its stupid and pointless! But as you said, I think I just haev to remember I started this for myself as a creative outlet so I can use it as I please 🙂 I definately will push through it, I dont want to condition myself to be adverse to writing! I havnt been able to properly identify what it is that has been holding me back, but reading your comment made me realise that that is exactly what I am going through and has made me feel a lot better than I actually know what my problem is now so I can push through it and that I’m not the only one that goes through it! Thankyou so much! 🙂 ❤

  5. Papizilla Says:

    When I find myself stuck on a post, or incapable of expressing what I want in a meaningful way. I do a musical post. Bunch of YouTube videos with snippy comments from me. I have also built in “theme” days designed for expressly that purpose. For those days when my “give a crap” is broken or my ability to not come across as overly snarky is on hiatus. I took an entire year off of blogging once, just to “relax my mind”. It did help. Hope the block breaks soon, the longer it goes, the more self doubt creeps in. Good luck!

    • Gemma Says:

      The theme days sound like a great idea, I think I’ll give those a go, they might motivate me too when my usually hyper brain decides to suddenly abandon me! 😛 Thankyou so much for the advice, I hope I can break it soon, though from all these lovely comments and knowing I am not the only one to go through is regularly is beginning to make me feel better already! 🙂


Leave a Reply

